RSS

TGIF: Yes and No

03 Feb

There is a special place in ratings analysis for Fridays. Shows are allowed to survive at lower ratings because the consensus is no one is really watching tv on Fridays because, well, it’s Friday. Movies premier, functions occur, nightlight hops, etc. But lower ratings mean less advertising dollars, so a show needs to balance that budget between expense and profit just as closely as weekday shows.

But this isn’t a discussion about that, more like a commentary on my life as Friday is the biggest night for tv for me with four shows all airing at 8pm. What is a girl to do?

CBS CSI: NY
CW Supernatural
FOX Fringe
NBC Grimm

This is when I miss my dvr.

Well, I am not a nelson home nor do I have a dvr so what I watch has no impact whatsoever, otherwise I’d pick the one with the biggest chance at being canceled as to help it out.

CSI:NY is a pick up show, can watch any time and not lose context plus it’s got great syndication.

Grimm is new but so far good and NBC trends to have the episode online pretty quickly.

Supernatural has plenty of one-off episodes but seven seasons in the show has become complex enough that I have to make sure I don’t miss any episodes.

Fringe is very complex and you never know when something important is going to flash across screen in a seemingly innocuous moment.

As you can probably guess, Fringe wins. It’s not a show to get behind on and it’s always noteworthy to talk about. However, if there is a guest star of note on Supernatural then I might choose it over Fringe.

Of course this is just the 8pm CT slot. SyFy usually had something on at 9pm worth watching and there used to be Chuck at 7pm.

So either Friday is where great tv is dumped or according to studios I need to get my priorities straight. I vote the former.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Blog

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
